Box of Holsters

This is a discussion on Box of Holsters within the Defensive Carry Holsters & Carry Options forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hello everyone. This is my first post here, and I thought it might be helpful to share my insight about some of the holsters I ...

Like Tree3Likes
  • 2 Post By Djpxd
  • 1 Post By Djpxd

Thread: Box of Holsters

Box of Holsters

Hello everyone. This is my first post here, and I thought it might be helpful to share my insight about some of the holsters I have acquired over the past year for concealed carry. My carry weapon is a Springfield XDs, and I have spent a lot more money than I ever expected trying to find the right holster.
    One thing to note is that I have a very bad lower back (even with plenty of "core" exercising). Almost every holster I have tried resulted in me getting all twisted up after more than an hour of concealed carry. I am new to concealed carry (about a year), but to me, a fully loaded XDs gets pretty danged heavy when strapped to your side all day.
    I am hoping this might save a few people a few bucks in their search for a good holster.
    I'll go in order of purchase.

The Zlogonje Elemental pancake OWB:
    This is a GREAT holster. It is made extremely well with fantastic retention. It actually conceals pretty well, and the most comfortable position I could find with it was about 2 to 2:30. But with an an hour or two of wearing it at any position, the weight of the XDs and the pressure on my hips caused my crickety back to start twisting up. I still use it at the range or for open carry for shorter amounts of time. Overall, I love this holster, but it just doesn't work for everyday carry for me.

Old Faithful IWB: