Will Kydex eventually weaken if....

This is a discussion on Will Kydex eventually weaken if.... within the Defensive Carry Holsters & Carry Options forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Disclaimer: I'm not new to firearms, but I am new to carrying. I've ordered my SHTF Gear holster, and while I suppose I could wait ...

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Hatrix

Thread: Will Kydex eventually weaken if....

Will Kydex eventually weaken if....

Disclaimer: I'm not new to firearms, but I am new to carrying.
    I've ordered my SHTF Gear holster, and while I suppose I could wait and see before I ask this, but I would like to know what other people have experienced.
    I'm going to assume for now that I'll carry at 4:00. It's where my gun sits under my belt right now around the house, to and from the car, and when I open carry on my property. It feels good there. I'm going to assume that won't change when my holster arrives unless for some reason the holster feels better at another position.

How many people who have IWB's around that position leave the gun holstered while driving? How many take it out and place it on the seat next to them, in the glovebox, or console of the vehicle?
    And my big question: of the people who unholster while in the vehicle, have any Kydex holsters been mis-shapened or warped or otherwise damaged from it being pressed against a seat with no gun inside to keep it formed?

2. Remove Ads

VIP Member
    I can't drive comfortably with a gun at 4:00. As for an empty holster iwb, I find all of them to become uncomfortable in short order. I carry at 3:00 and leave the gun there.
    "When you have to shoot, shoot, don't talk."
    Tuco

If you take it out and place it on the seat, it becomes a projectile if you have a crash..........

Smokey