How does a gun belt increase support?

This is a discussion on How does a gun belt increase support? within the Defensive Carry Holsters & Carry Options forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm new to carrying, so I'm trying to make it as comfortable as possible. With my Alien Gear Holster and my Holster Store Pro Carry ...

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Like Tree36Likes

Thread: How does a gun belt increase support?

How does a gun belt increase support?

I'm new to carrying, so I'm trying to make it as comfortable as possible. With my Alien Gear Holster and my Holster Store Pro Carry HD, my Ruger SR1911 CMD is pretty comfortable. How much help would a gun belt be? I guess I don't understand what makes it more supportive, so I'd appreciate if you filled me in. Thanks!
    tony1990 likes this.

2. Remove Ads

A good stiff gun belt takes the sag out of the guns weight and distributes it more evenly across the waist, thereby reducing the felt weight of the gun.
    Ignorance is a long way from stupid, but left unchecked, can get there real fast.

Distinguished Member Array airslot's Avatar
    A gun belt is usually much stiffer than a normal belt. That stiffness holds the weapon tighter to your body. With the weight of your 1911, you will notice a difference in the amount of unwanted movement.
    The situation will NEVER BE THE WAY YOU WANT, it WILL BE THE WAY IT IS. You must be FLEXIBLE ENOUGH TO ADAPT and just "DEAL WITH IT".

GH