Hybrid holsters- Honest opinions

This is a discussion on Hybrid holsters- Honest opinions within the Defensive Carry Holsters & Carry Options forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; This thread IS NOT about which brand of hybrid holster is the best. Everyone has their own opinion about which holster they love and how ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Like Tree19Likes

Thread: Hybrid holsters- Honest opinions

This thread IS NOT about which brand of hybrid holster is the best. Everyone has their own opinion about which holster they love and how it hides an AutoMag under just a t-shirt.

I have been shooting handguns for almost 40 years. Competed in IDPA for 10+ years, CC on and off since NC first passed our law, 15+ years ago. So, I'm not a rookie.

During that time I have tried lots of different IWB holsters, Sparks, Kramer, Fist and cheaper stuff.( Got a bag full of holsters) I've also tried concealing all sizes of guns, 1911s, Glocks, Kahr, Kel Tec, etc. The closest I've come to being really comfortable is a Kel Tec in a custom wallet holster. I'm now ready to try a bigger gun once again.

One holster I've never tried is the hybrid. I have had the opportunity to handle only one and it was big, heavy, bulky and it looked hot. It was not a flea market hybrid but one from a well known maker that I see on here a lot. I wasn't impressed.

Ok, with that out of the way let's get down to it.

> With the way they're made and wraps around your body, does it not have too much bulk under your waistband? Does it feel like you're wearing a blanket underneath your pants? I've seen pics of guys wearing them and they brag on how comfortable it is but their clothes look slouchy and not neat.

> With the big leather backing, does it not get extremely hot in the summer? Doesn't it smell like BO?

> Does the wide clip spacing cause problems getting it positioned correctly between your belt loops?