Shoulder holster versus IWB

This is a discussion on Shoulder holster versus IWB within the Defensive Carry Holsters & Carry Options forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; From what I've seen here recently, I get the impression that a lot of people carry IWB and OWB. I don't see much feedback on ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Shoulder holster versus IWB

From what I've seen here recently, I get the impression that a lot of people carry IWB and OWB. I don't see much feedback on shoulder holsters, but I'm wondering why.

I'm very new to CCW, so not much experience, but have been trying IWB with a 3" Kimber UC II. Recently received a MaxCon V and started wearing it. Still trying to find where it best sits on me. Wondering if over time, it will shape at all to my body. Trying several cover garments, but much of what I'd normally wear, will either allow printing, or riding up to expose. Not very comfortable in any of my vehicles, either.

So it seems like a shoulder holster would be a great way to carry. I would think printing would be less likely under your arm. Easier to get to than IWB. Definitely easier access and greater comfort while driving. Riding up not an issue. Some coats coming open could be an issue, but not for the jackets I wear. Just keep them zipped or buttoned at the bottom. Harder to put on and take off?

Am I missing something? I'd love to hear from those who either carry this way, or tried it and found out what I'm missing. Hate to reinvent the wheel.
    "You're already flying upside down. You might as well turn on the smoke and have some fun."
    - Laurence Gonzales - "Deep Survival"

Assistant Administrator
    I used a Bianchi X-15 for a good many months - winter tho. I used it for my P95 in fact 4 years ago or more. It was good for concealment and pretty good for comfort except - the elastic top cross strap would ride up too high onto my neck and show at times.