Taurus 651 Carry Suggestions

This is a discussion on Taurus 651 Carry Suggestions within the Defensive Carry Holsters & Carry Options forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hello All, I'm new to CC but have a lot of experience with guns, hunting, handloading etc. Before a totally unprovoked incident in my neighborhood ...

Thread: Taurus 651 Carry Suggestions

Taurus 651 Carry Suggestions

Hello All, I'm new to CC but have a lot of experience with guns, hunting, handloading etc. Before a totally unprovoked incident in my neighborhood with some bum (drunk & most likely tweaked on meth) working for a guy across the street I'd thought CCW to be a step forward, but more hassle than it was worth. Especially in Ohio where you can basically just carry concealed on your property or in your car, and even that wasn't allowed when it first passed. Needless to say I've changed my thinking now!

Anyhow I've recently purchased a Taurus 651 .357 Mag in Stainless (like std. 2.5" model 605, but semi-concealed hammer). I'm wondering what people think is a good way to carry it and what holsters are good to look into.

Being that it's small I could stick it in a pocket, but I also may opt for IWB on either side or small of the back. I want to get a good holster, but since I can't wear it a lot (not even to work downtown or the parking lot on my way here!) I don't want to sink a ton of $ into it either. Since work is out, I'll mostly be dressed casually and I'm also not much of a shorts person even in the summertime. More of a Jeans and T-shirt type. Any suggestions / recommendations are appreciated.

2. Remove Ads

Senior Moderator
    I carry a 605 in a pocket holster, Smartcarry, and IWB. I use a Uncle Mikes holster for pocket and IWB. If you were going to IWB most of the time I would get a better holster than a Uncle Mikes.

But since you have a 651 I would pocket carry most of the time.