IWB Choice: Leather or Plastic?

This is a discussion on IWB Choice: Leather or Plastic? within the Defensive Carry Holsters & Carry Options forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; This is my first post, and after reading about what some of you use, I have narrowed it down to two choices of holsters: Andrews ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: IWB Choice: Leather or Plastic?

IWB Choice: Leather or Plastic?

This is my first post, and after reading about what some of you use, I have narrowed it down to two choices of holsters: Andrews MacDaniel II w/ body shield, or Blade Tech Ultimate Concealment Holster. This is my first time buying a holster. Leather sounds more comfortable, but I'm a big (wide) man and sweating runs in the family. Alot. Would the MacDaniel holster still be OK? I would like to pair it with the MacDaniel Magazine Pouch and The Beltman Horse Hide 1.5" belt. Any other suggestions would be appreciated, but I would like to stay under $100 for a first holster until I know what I like.

2. Remove Ads

Senior Moderator
    IWB leather is the best IMO.

Plastic is not pliable enough to be comfortable for me. You can get a sweat guard, I just wear a t-shirt, holster and then a Polo shirt or whatever.
    “You can sway a thousand men by appealing to their prejudices quicker than you can convince one man by logic.”

― Robert A. Heinlein,

I have been a leather man all my life. I plan to try some polys, but I will likely stick with leather.
    "A simple way to take measure of a country is to look at how many want in ... And how many want out." British Prime Minister Tony Blair

I have:

a UCH by Bladetech for a Firestar. (Kydex)

a IWB from Sidearmor for a 5"1911. (Kydex)

a Dakota Defender from K&D for a 5" 1911 (Leather)

a Crossbreed IWB from Crossbreed (hybrid Leather/Kydex)