Fanny Pack or IWB for Summer CCW

This is a discussion on Fanny Pack or IWB for Summer CCW within the Defensive Carry Holsters & Carry Options forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am new to ccw and have an XD45 Compact and colt 1911 Government. I bought a Desantis Tuck -This IWB for my XD just ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Fanny Pack or IWB for Summer CCW

Fanny Pack or IWB for Summer CCW

I am new to ccw and have an XD45 Compact and colt 1911 Government. I bought a Desantis Tuck -This IWB for my XD just to try out something. This rig seems a little uncomfortable for summer use and I am a chubby gun (I know, lose some weight) but am seriously thinking about use of a fanny pack. On other forums a lot of comments how it uncool they look, is a tell to LEO or the BG that you are packin, but why would that be a problem if you are carrying ccw legally in it. Does anyone share my thinking or have another thought. Thanks for input

2. Remove Ads

Lead Moderator
    Black or OD green fanny packs may suggest gun, but maybe try a Camelbak Goblin or off color fanny pack . I had a Tuck this and found it to be less than useful for my needs.
    A good IWB will work better, but wearing shorts and no belt can be a problem too. I sometimes us a belly band holster too, but they can get uncomfortable and too warm as well.
    "In matters of style, swim with the current; in matters of principle, stand like a rock." Thomas Jefferson

Nemo Me Impune Lacesset

When I walk of a day I normally carry in my Black Hawk fanny pack. I am not much on belly bands, and the fanny pack allows me quick access to my gun. Yeah, it can "telegraph" that you are packing, but I think that most COPS figure that if you are wearing one, that you have a license. As far as the would be assailant's, if they think that I am wearing a gun, they are less likely to approach me because they are not looking for a fight! They are looking for easy pickin's!!!