OWB help !?!?

This is a discussion on OWB help !?!? within the Defensive Carry Holsters & Carry Options forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I have always carried IWB but recently was given a Don Hume OWB for free. I tried it all day yesterday but the damn gun ...

Thread: OWB help !?!?

OWB help !?!?

I have always carried IWB but recently was given a Don Hume OWB for free. I tried it all day yesterday but the damn gun won't stay vertical. It seems the magazine makes the gun top heavy when holstered and the holster and gun want to lean away from my body causing a nasty print. Please help me out since I'm totally new to OWB carry.

oh...and this is with a 1.5 heavy duty leather belt. It's not an instructor belt or anything like that but it's not a limp noodle either.

2. Remove Ads

This is one of the reasons why I carry IWB too.

It may be that you have a poorly designed holster too. Without seeing the holster it's really hard to determine why. I do know that this is a common problem with certain "bottomfeeders".

Biker

Ummm..well,I'd usually say try a purpose-built gun belt,like Rafter S. I imagine though,you can tell whether it's the belt or not just by looking. If it's a JIT slide I doubt anything will hold it in tighter,there's simply not enough material there to straighten the gun out. I'm beginning to think kydex is for owb,and leather for iwb.Only my opinion.

TWBryan

Assistant Administrator
    Before I got my Eagle Defender OWB from K&D I used a Dillon rig as a temp fix for my 226 SIG ...... it was not too bad but - the K&D is IMO as tight holding in as any IWB - and so much depends I think on the design and placment of the ''ears'' and slots in those.

Mine is 2 1/2 years now into daily use and has of course well bedded in - and yet still I have the reassuring slight contact pressure of the grips against my lower ribs.