Need some IWB help

This is a discussion on Need some IWB help within the Defensive Carry Holsters & Carry Options forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I just got mt vm2 in the mail saturday .However,I'm completely new to IWB carry,I need some tips.I already have pants that are a couple ...

Thread: Need some IWB help

Need some IWB help

I just got mt vm2 in the mail saturday .However,I'm completely new to IWB carry,I need some tips.I already have pants that are a couple sizes bigger(I've been loseing weight).Is there any special"rules" I need to go by.I know it's not rocket science and I'm probably reading to far into this.How do you guys carry IWB.The gun is a 5" 1911.Thanks

2. Remove Ads

this time of the year, I wear jean shorts, wear mine at about 3;30 to 4 oclock. IWB there's no one place that fits all, just move it around a little see where it's most comfortable, where it conceals best, start at 3 work your way back to about 5 let how it feels be your guide.

The Holster is only as good as the belt that supports it.

Biker

I wear mine at 3:30 to 4:00 as well and yes, a true gun belt is critical for comfort and support. They cost more than wardrobe belts but the good ones will far outlast them too.

Keep in mind that new holsters are pretty stiff. It might take a week or so for the holster to form to your hip and get really comfortable. Give it time, it'll get better!
    Jack

The belt is not a problem,I have several from beltman,sparks ,Gary b and galco.

Wear it around the house as much as possible. Break in the holster, get used to the weight, adjust the location, tightness of belt, any tension device in holster. Practice drawing and presenting your pistol from the holster with the normal cover items in place (PLEASE DO THIS WITH AN UNLOADED GUN, TRIPLE CHECK IT, UNLOADED!!!!!)
    Pay attention to how your shirt, under the holster/gun hangs. Make sure it is well tucked in and does not impede your draw or blouse out to snag the gun.