Ankle holster; deep concealment

This is a discussion on Ankle holster; deep concealment within the Defensive Carry Holsters & Carry Options forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm thinking about buying a ankle holster to wear at work, being that i'm a construction manager i'm in an out of meetings, and sometimes ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ankle holster; deep concealment

Ankle holster; deep concealment

I'm thinking about buying a ankle holster to wear at work, being that i'm a construction manager i'm in an out of meetings, and sometimes become hands on when i make my rounds visiting my construction sites. Last week while i was helping with something my shirt was pulled up over the top of my gun lieving it exposed in a clipon inside paints holster. So I'm looking for deep concealment ,I don't want anyone at work knowing i'm carrying. I've never worn a ankle holster so i don't know much about' em, i carry a springfield subcompact xd 40. Any suggestions? Thanks
    Last edited by ultralite; August 22nd, 2007 at 04:23 PM.

2. Remove Ads

I've been carrying for some years now and I have tried all modes of carry. Ankle carry of my 442 is my favorite and most comfortable mode of carry. I have a custom leather rig for my G27 and I just picked up a Galco Ankle Glove open top for my 442.

I think that you may desire a custom rig like an Alessi or a Bulman for your XD. IMO, the weight of that gun will benefit from a leather setup since it rides much more securely. A gun like my Airweight can ride in anything since it's so light.

While I somewhat agree with most that will chime in soon about the "perils" of ankle carry and how primary guns should be carried about the waist. Ankle carry is a legit mode of carry. Just don't kid yourself and get an ankle and not practice with it. It needs a good run of initial break in training and general upkeep to be proficient. If you don't want to practice then don't carry this way.