Stiffening Leather Holsters

This is a discussion on Stiffening Leather Holsters within the Defensive Carry Holsters & Carry Options forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; First of all, this is a great forum! Lots of knowledgeable people with willingness to help. I have been making my own leather holsters for ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Stiffening Leather Holsters

Stiffening Leather Holsters

First of all, this is a great forum! Lots of knowledgeable people with willingness to help.

I have been making my own leather holsters for about 6 months now and I am prettty happy with the results. I have a question about the stiffness or firmness of holsters. I have made many IWB holsters that work great, but I would like them to be a little firmer. I have used the hot water, hot water with alcohol, and hot water with soap techniques for molding the leather. The holsters form and mold well, but they just aren't stiff enough for me once they are dried. I have handled some professionally made holsters that are very rigid without the use of reinforcement. Often times with thinner leather than the leather I am using.

My question is how do they get the molded leather to be so rigid? Is there some kind of finish (chemical) that they use to stiffen the leather once its molded? Or is it something in the process that I am missing.

Thanks in advance for any helpful suggestions.

2. Remove Ads

VIP Member Array Redneck Repairs's Avatar
    I have handled some professionally made holsters that are very rigid without the use of reinforcement. Often times with thinner leather than the leather I am using.

My question is how do they get the molded leather to be so rigid? Is there some kind of finish (chemical) that they use to stiffen the leather once its molded? Or is it something in the process that I am missing.