Glock 19 IWB holster advice for new guy

This is a discussion on Glock 19 IWB holster advice for new guy within the Defensive Carry Holsters & Carry Options forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hello all, this is my first post here. I just finished a class on concealed weapons here in CO and I am looking at getting ...

Hello all, this is my first post here. I just finished a class on concealed weapons here in CO and I am looking at getting my permit. One obvious item needed is a holster and since I have no experience carrying, I don't know which to even look at. I have a Glock 19 and would like a comfortable IWB holster. Where do I look and what do you use? Thanks!
    "Expecting a carjacker or rapist or drug pusher to care that his possession or use of a gun is unlawful is like expecting a terrorist to care that his car bomb is taking up two parking spaces." -Joseph T. Chew

Personal choice is the Sparks Executives Companion.

Holster selection is subjective. There is almost no way to avoid buying, trying, then selling holsters. The best advice I can give is:

1. Buy quality rather than crap. Quality does not mean "best that money can buy." In this case it means "really good for the money."
    2. Buy what are considered "best of class" of the various holster types so you give yourself the best chance of striking gold.
    3. Buy used at first, which takes the sting out of experimentation. The G19 is perhaps the gun most widely represented in holsters out there, so there's a robust used holster market for them.
    4. Start with a strong side belt holster, before going to other types (shoulder, etc).

There is kydex vs leather. There is OWB vs IWB. There are substyles within the IWB family and the OWB family.

A reasonable first pass might be any one of:

- Sidearmor IWB = basic loop-on-top kydex IWB.
    - Comp-tac CTAC = basic spread-loop adjustable kydex IWB.