Question for the IWB carriers...

This is a discussion on Question for the IWB carriers... within the Defensive Carry Holsters & Carry Options forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; How many of you that IWB (does not matter what type of holster) are having condensation issues on your sidearm? I noticed (a bit too ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Question for the IWB carriers...

How many of you that IWB (does not matter what type of holster) are having condensation issues on your sidearm?

I noticed (a bit too late) that at the end of the work day, the inboard side of my sidearm that is against the leather is coated in dew. This is in a Kydex/Leather tucked IWB.

Now, my sidearm goes through probably more extremes than most of yours. I am a field service mechanic, working 12 hour shifts, and , between the get up, get down, rolling around, dirt, concrete, lint and 50* temperature swings...She gets a weekly cleaning. Unfortunately I noticed a couple of weeks ago that I am developing a bit of rust on the frame. Nothing internal yet. This is where a bit of grit and normal wear from the holster has worn the matt finish off.

I have started "buffing" the frame with a soft towel where this occurs nightly, and putting a coat of silicone based oil on it, then in the morning a light wipe off to remove the excess.

I am now thinking of getting her a "Duracoat".

Anybody else have suggestions?
    Sticks

Grasseater // Grass~eat~er noun, often attributive \ˈgras-ē-tər\
    A person who is incapable of independent thought; a person who is herd animal-like in behavior; one who cannot distinguish between right and wrong; a foolish person.
    See also Sheep