How often do you replace your belt?

This is a discussion on How often do you replace your belt? within the Defensive Carry Holsters & Carry Options forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I've been wearing my current belt almost every day for the past five years or so, though only recently with a carry weapon. I tried ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How often do you replace your belt?

How often do you replace your belt?

I've been wearing my current belt almost every day for the past five years or so, though only recently with a carry weapon. I tried my 2.5" S&W M66 in a Don Hume J.I.T. during my last range trip and had to cinch the belt so tight my bellybutton was kissing my spine.

There's a respectable weight difference between my 66 and 642 so maybe it's just more weight than I'm use to but I'm wondering if maybe the belt's useable "carry life" is played out. It works fine with my 642 but is it time to use it as just for casual wear? This is a 1.5" gunbelt from a very respectable holster maker and it still looks as good as the day I opened the package.

Considering my limited CCW experience I thought I'd ask how often you folks generally replace your belts. I've got a new one on order with Eric at HBE but it'll be a while before it arrives, Maybe I should wait for the new leather before I start carrying my 66?

Appreciate any input you folks can offer!
    Jack

2. Remove Ads

Administrator

Thumbs up My Belt

My gun belt is getting pretty "deformed" & I sure am due for a new belt.
    I've used the same buckle & keeper through three different belts already.
    When I carry a full weight firearm at the waist I pull my belt in super tight.
    Liberty Over Tyranny Μολὼν λαβέ

I do the same as QKShooter -- when my belt starts to deform noticeably, I get a new one. A heavier firearm does mean I've got to keep my belt tighter than something like a 642.

Assistant Administrator