Test-drive a carry option?

This is a discussion on Test-drive a carry option? within the Defensive Carry Holsters & Carry Options forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; This may seem a little silly to all of the knowledgeable and experienced CCW folks on the forum, but I'm still a novice at this; ...

Thread: test-drive a carry option?

test-drive a carry option?

This may seem a little silly to all of the knowledgeable and experienced CCW folks on the forum, but I'm still a novice at this; however I'm very interested in learning as much as I can and am totally open to suggestions. I'm presently taking classes and practicing on a firing range to decide on a CCW, and I'm not sure yet what pistol I will buy, but I was thinking it might be worthwhile to try out wearing a holster with one of those dummy pistols (training handguns I think they call them - they look like various makes of real pistols; not sure if they are made of plastic or rubber) to help me determine what might work for me.

Since I've never carried a firearm before and am not familiar with all that you have to think about when you wear a holster and have a firearm in it, I wanted to see what might or might not work for me. For instance - what would it feel like having to drive while wearing a holster & pistol at various locations? Would I prefer something in the front or cross-draw? What would best conceal a firearm for someone tall and slim like me who mostly tucks in a shirt? Maybe I would at least address some of my questions before I invest in a pistol & holster that may save some regrets later on.

Has anyone else tried this? I am planning to attend a gun show on the 23rd of this month and was wondering if they might have these there. I realize holsters are pretty expensive so I'm not sure if there are inexpensive ones I could use to test with a dummy pistol if I could get one.
    Glock 26, Ruger LCR, Glock 19