Concealed Carry Colt Mustang

This is a discussion on Concealed Carry Colt Mustang within the Defensive Carry Holsters & Carry Options forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I've just gotten a Colt Mustang which I intend to carry concealed, at least part-time. I was thinking IWB/small of the back, or possibly ankle ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Concealed Carry Colt Mustang

Concealed Carry Colt Mustang

I've just gotten a Colt Mustang which I intend to carry concealed, at least part-time. I was thinking IWB/small of the back, or possibly ankle carry.

What are the best holsters for ankle carry, and for IWB small of back carry for a Colt Mustang?

2. Remove Ads

Senior Member Array TheGreatGonzo's Avatar
    If you will permit me to add my 2 pennies regarding small-of-back (SOB) carry: As an Instructor, I strongly discourage any of my shooters from carrying a pistol this way. It can easily cause damage to your back and spine. Not just if you happen to fall on your back, but even from sitting for long periods of time. I'm sure there are advocates of SOB carry on the board, and I don't mean to discount their training and experience, but I recommend against it.

I would think that a Mustang could easily be carried in a good ankle rig. Don't go cheap. Buy something well made, stable, and with good retention. I lost a Taurus Model 85 many years ago during a foot pursuit up the side of the highway. I was using a cheap, elastic band type ankle rig and never realized it came out. A citizen pulled up where we had caught the guy and brought it over to me between his thumb and forefinger, like he was holding a dead fish or something.

Embarrased? You betcha'.
    Gonzo
    Last edited by TheGreatGonzo; August 20th, 2008 at 09:36 PM.
    "Skin that smokewagon!".

I like IWB problem with ankle carry is it's not a very effective way to get a gun out quick,I might consider ankle carry for a bug but not a primary unless i had no other choice