IWB - Leather Dressing

This is a discussion on IWB - Leather Dressing within the Defensive Carry Holsters & Carry Options forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am very new to CCW. Like probably a lot of people, I run in circles where it's very important that I don't get 'caught' ...

Thread: IWB - Leather Dressing

IWB - Leather Dressing

I am very new to CCW. Like probably a lot of people, I run in circles where it's very important that I don't get 'caught' carrying, though I have a license. I could sure use a few opinions from you folks.................

I am fortunate to have a place that specializes in holsters within a 40 minute drive. Unfortunately, I managed to show up the one day the guys were packing up almost all their stuff to go to a big show. Anyway, I was willing to make a quick purchase for my Kahr CW9 and accept that it probably won't be the final solution (which would likely be the case if I had all day to look). He had a pretty decent, custom, IWB clip on, that holds the gun well and covers the trigger guard. But he was adamant about using some leather dressing on the inside to make it easier to draw and to protect the finish of the gun. I bought the dressing too. Now I have some nagging doubts about the dressing:

• The gun is stainless steel and polymer. It is also a working gun, not a showpiece. How much damage can leather do to it?
    • It draws fine now. There is no thumb break (hope that's the right term) and all that is holding the gun is friction. I just plain don't want it coming out any easier. I am tempted to not use the dressing, at least until I can get back to the holster shop to go over some things. But I'm new to this. Is there any reason that I should go ahead and use the dressing?

2. Remove Ads

Administrator
    Don't use that dressing.
    Your Stainless/polymer firearm should have absolutely no problems in leather.