High ride or low ride?

This is a discussion on High ride or low ride? within the Defensive Carry Holsters & Carry Options forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; As I'm relatively new to the custom holster game, and consistent CCW for that matter, I'm trying to understand what is likely to be a ...

Thread: High ride or low ride?

High ride or low ride?

As I'm relatively new to the custom holster game, and consistent CCW for that matter, I'm trying to understand what is likely to be a simple concept as well as how it pertains to different pistols.

I've been carrying a 1911 in a Bullard for a while and picked up a CW9 yesterday for eventual replacement as my EDC. I'm looking into an HBE but noticed he offers various ride heights. It seems like there is a need for different ride heights based on the type of pistol but I'm not sure which would be the best fit for my Kahr.

Can anyone share their experiences as to which works better for which pistol? Is this more of a personal preference or is it based on how the pistol itself is weighted?

Thanks for your help.

2. Remove Ads

One thing with a High Ride type holster is you need a very good belt because the weight rides so high and the gun can flop out from your body.

It really is personal preference and if you been carrying a 1911 and going to a Kahr the difference in size a normal or low height carry would work fine IMHO.
    MNBurl

"If everyone is thinking alike, then somebody isn't thinking" - George S. Patton.

Body shape will also play into it. IMO, a high-ride holster needs a body shape that allows for the butt of the gun to ride tightly against the body. Not all folks are of a tube-less design, so to speak (that is, lacking "love handles"). Won't work nearly as well for some folks.
    Your best weapon is your brain. Don't leave home without it.
    Thoughts: Justifiable self defense (A.O.J.).
    Explain: How does disarming victims reduce the number of victims?