IWB Gun

IWB Gun

This is a discussion on IWB Gun within the Defensive Carry Holsters & Carry Options forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm new to carrying and would like some advice. I use to carry a Kimber Pro Carry in a Galco Miami Vice holster, didn't like ...

Thread: IWB Gun

IWB Gun

I'm new to carrying and would like some advice. I use to carry a Kimber Pro Carry in a Galco Miami Vice holster, didn't like it. I want to carry IWB and am looking at gun/holster options. I have narrowed it down to a Kimber CDP, but don't know if I should get the 4" or 5". How is the 5" to carry IWB, and will there be much of a difference in the two? I also want to use the gun to start shooting in some local USPSA matches.

I carry the 4" and 5" not much difference if you have the right holster. You might want to check out the crossbreed holsters. They make it a lot easier to carry either. They will fit the 4 or 5" gun....
    I bow to one king, and serve only one kingdom
    JESUS CHRIST

JD
    Administrator
    There's not much real difference in the 5" Kimber and the 4" Pro, the only real advantage the 4" has is that it will clear leather a bit quicker than the 5". For most people the grip is the hardest part to conceal and both the 5" and 4" Pro have the same grip dimensions, there is a 4" Compact, which has the small frame but I think you're referring to the Pro and not the compact.

There are many fine IWB holsters for either, my one recommendation is to choose on with widely spaced, offset loops to better distribute the weight of the gun.

Some good choices are:

Comp-Tac (Various Models)
    CrossBreed Holsters (Super Tuck)
    Desibens Gunleather (#2 and #3)
    FIST (Various Models)
    HBE (COM III)
    Milt Sparks (VMII)
    UBG (Canute)
    Tucker Gunleather (Various Models)