CC holster for slim lefty with M&P 9mm compact?

This is a discussion on CC holster for slim lefty with M&P 9mm compact? within the Defensive Carry Holsters & Carry Options forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am new to CC, and this will be my first CC pistol and holster. I am left eye dominant and shoot left handed even ...

Thread: CC holster for slim lefty with M&P 9mm compact?

CC holster for slim lefty with M&P 9mm compact?

I am new to CC, and this will be my first CC pistol and holster. I am left eye dominant and shoot left handed even though I am right handed (partly ambidextrous in most tool skills). Reading up on this I think I want strong side draw. I like the idea of IWB (easier to conceal in a hot summer), but initially I think I will start OWB to avoid having to replace my wardrobe.

Where I get stuck in making a choice is the holster position (9, or 8 to 8:30 position) and cant. Being a lefty with a M&P 9mm compact greatly reduces many holster choices. Also I'm looking at the M&P with the ambi thumb safeties which probably further reduces holster choices. I am slim with a waist less then 32" hence the choice of a compact.

Can anyone give me some pointers to consider? Or even holsters to recommend? To be more frugal I'd like to use the same holster at the range during practice, and possibly also in competition (for practice not winning).

Also with IWB, while the holster/pistol are covered I notice that the holster clips are often visible over the belt. Is that still considered concealed? Thanks.

2. Remove Ads

Even with the clips exposed on the belt it is still considered concealed and most people will never notice anything on your belt anyway (some holsters can be had with a c clip that the belt sits over so is only visable on the top/bottom of the belt)

Any of the custom makers that have a mold for the MP Compact can make a lefty version.