CCW newb; questions on OWB carry and cant

This is a discussion on CCW newb; questions on OWB carry and cant within the Defensive Carry Holsters & Carry Options forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hey, all... Glad to have found and joined up here. I'm new to a job which involves concealed carry on and (optionally) off-duty, with a ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: CCW newb; questions on OWB carry and cant

Hey, all...

Glad to have found and joined up here. I'm new to a job which involves concealed carry on and (optionally) off-duty, with a mid-compact SIG. My choices of holster are limited to an approved list, and they're all OWB or shoulder options. The main issue is that we must carry the holster with which we're qualified...we can't have one for on-duty and another for off-duty. (The OWB/IWB conversion thread just below did catch my eye...I was looking for something like that...)

Standard issue holster is a Safariland paddle/belt convertible model with vertical draw, which I actually like a lot. My issue with it is that it sticks out a lot from my body, which I find awkward for getting in and out of vehicles, and for printing reasons. I'm thin (29" waist) with larger shoulders (40" jacket...not huge, but in proportion...) and the gun just looks like a big fat lump unless I wear a really sloppy-looking oversized jacket. And then I look like David Byrne, which just won't do.

I was thinking of trying a pancake holster with the "FBI cant," and wearing it further behind my back, say the 4:30 position. Is this a good option for keeping the printing lower while still allowing a fast draw from underneath a cover garment? I find the cant to be awkward at the 3:00 position, but it seems more natural further to the rear, whereas the vertical ones seem awkward that far back.