Leather Holster

Leather Holster

This is a discussion on Leather Holster within the Defensive Carry Holsters & Carry Options forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Got a New leather holster from local store it fits my Springfield 1911 as snug as a bug . But how do you break in ...

Thread: Leather Holster

Leather Holster

Got a New leather holster from local store it fits my Springfield 1911 as snug as a bug . But how do you break in a leather holster my other holster was a serpa of course very smooth draw , this one I have to pull or tug hard out. thought about mink oil im leaving gun in holster in my safe to break in , but does anyone have suggestions?
    Thanks
    "If you want peace, prepare for war." Si vis pacem, para bellum.
    NRA Member - GRNC Member
    Old Paratroopers never die , we just regroup!!
    82nd ABN DIV.. GOD Bless our Troops!!
    Foward Observer 3/505thPIR - A/319thAFAR
    87-91 "Just Cause - Desert Sheild/Storm"

I am no expert, but here is my advice - for what it is worth!

Do not use mink oil, it will make your holster too soft and floppy. Not a good thing for a holster, especially if you want to be able to re-holster easily.

Try wrapping your gun in a large ziploc freezer bag, then place it in the holster for 24 hours. It will add just a tiny bit of space. If it does not provide enough room, put two bags on your gun and leave it again.

Lastly, after you have used 2 bags to stretch the holster, just wear it around for a week or two. Your body heat and moisture will probably get you where the holster will still hold the gun firmly, but allow you to draw.

Pretty soon you will have a well fit holster.

Good luck.

1943 - 2009
    A better alternative to a zip-lock plastic bag is wax paper.

Wrap the pistol in one layer, seat it in the holster, let sit overnight. If it's still too tight, try two layers, but one is usually sufficient.

When you’re wounded and left on Afghanistan’s plains,