Protect the Finish

Protect the Finish

This is a discussion on Protect the Finish within the Defensive Carry Holsters & Carry Options forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I've been using this Browning Hi-Power since 1980 at the bedside and the range but it's been carried rarely: I'm now looking for a holster ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Protect the Finish

Protect the Finish

I've been using this Browning Hi-Power since 1980 at the bedside and the range but it's been carried rarely:

I'm now looking for a holster - probably a pancake - and wonder if certain holster features make any difference in keeping it looking like new. For instance, does a leather lining help preserve the blue finish?

I understand the holster itself will wear away the finish eventually - I'd just like to think I did what I could to put it off as long as possible.

Thanks.

Distinguished Member Array jarhead79's Avatar
    Well, First I'd like to discount a myth that some have. Don't get a suede lined holster. The chemicals used in the tanning process of most suede has the potential to corrode the finish and metal of your gun.

I'm not saying it will, but it may.

Your best bet may be a leather lined holster or a smooth side in.

Nate
    www.ubgholsters.com short wait times. Use 'defensivecarry' as a coupon code for a discount to your order.

That is a real beauty. I have one from 1966. If you carry it, it will show wear. I have a Kramer Handgun Leather - Revolver holsters, concealment holsters, paddle holster, 1911 holster, ankle holster belt scabbard with FBI cant in horsehide. I would be tempted to not carry that little princess and get something you don't care if it gets a little wear.