need the helping hand of experience

This is a discussion on need the helping hand of experience within the Defensive Carry Holsters & Carry Options forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; i know i ask a lot of questions on here. i do so because i am new to ccw life. i figure i can skip ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: need the helping hand of experience

need the helping hand of experience

i know i ask a lot of questions on here. i do so because i am new to ccw life. i figure i can skip most of the agony of figuring it out by getting the input of you all. first i am going to carry iwb, what is the best location for concealment? second i have a slight phobia of having a loaded chamber. has any one else faced this problem and how did you overcome it? i am comfortable with guns i have been around and used them most of my life. i am just new to concealed carry. any other tips and advice for the newbe would also be very useful.
    thank you all

2. Remove Ads

Assistant Administrator
    Most folks find IWB sits best at about 4 o'clock - depends of course a bit on build and clothing.

The loaded chamber deal - well - you'll not find many here who choose to carry on empty!! Depending on platform might depend also on your feeling of comfort being loaded.

The 1911 is best carried condition 1 - cocked and locked. Remember you have a grip safety as well as thumb - practice with that type of gun holstered but empty around home - but cocked and locked - and so get the confidence level up.

Any DA or DA/SA semi is no prob for chambered round. It might only be something like the Glock where you'd have to be particularly aware of everything being trigger re safety angle.

Familiarize with gun and rig a lot - even with empty gun initially - and remember the four rules of safety too. A gun with an empty chamber can be little better than a door stop in an emergency.
    Chris - P95
    NRA Certified Instructor & NRA Life Member.