How Long

This is a discussion on How Long within the Defensive Carry Holsters & Carry Options forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Not delivery time, but how long does it really take to actually produce a holster? I realize that different materials would affect the process. But ...

Thread: How Long

Distinguished Member Array 21bubba's Avatar

How Long

Not delivery time, but how long does it really take to actually produce a holster? I realize that different materials would affect the process. But does it take days, hours, weeks?

2. Remove Ads

I'm not a professional and I make leather holsters and mag pouches for my guns and a few friends,It takes me about 6 hours to design a pattern around the gun and cut it out,stitch it up and then wet the leather and form it around the gun,then overnight to dry,then dye and seal the leather.I believe the pros have sewing machines and techniques they have learned over the years that make their holsters look better than mine and they can probably do them in half the time,one little slip and it can leave an unacceptable mark in the leather
    "Outside of the killings, Washington has one of the lowest crime rates in the country,"
    --Mayor Marion Barry, Washington , DC .

I've got my patterns pretty well figured out so lets say I'm making one of my normal holsters for a 1911 I would guesstimate around 5 hours or so of time to get it all done. I could cut that time down allot with a sewing machine and at some point I likely will but I like hand stitched holsters, you have less worry about the stitch coming out.

It's really hard to say an exact time at least for me because there is quite a bit of waiting between steps for either adhesives, leather, dye, acrylic top coat all to dry. So consider that my guess at how long it takes, could be less but I would say it's probably conservative.

Luke