Defensive Carry banner

How Long

1K views 11 replies 8 participants last post by  Denster 
#1 ·
Not delivery time, but how long does it really take to actually produce a holster? I realize that different materials would affect the process. But does it take days, hours, weeks?

#2 ·
I'm not a professional and I make leather holsters and mag pouches for my guns and a few friends,It takes me about 6 hours to design a pattern around the gun and cut it out,stitch it up and then wet the leather and form it around the gun,then overnight to dry,then dye and seal the leather.I believe the pros have sewing machines and techniques they have learned over the years that make their holsters look better than mine and they can probably do them in half the time,one little slip and it can leave an unacceptable mark in the leather

#3 ·
I've got my patterns pretty well figured out so lets say I'm making one of my normal holsters for a 1911 I would guesstimate around 5 hours or so of time to get it all done. I could cut that time down allot with a sewing machine and at some point I likely will but I like hand stitched holsters, you have less worry about the stitch coming out.

It's really hard to say an exact time at least for me because there is quite a bit of waiting between steps for either adhesives, leather, dye, acrylic top coat all to dry. So consider that my guess at how long it takes, could be less but I would say it's probably conservative.

Luke

#4 ·
I just know about leather holsters made in a factory. It depends on how custom you want the holster. Plain jane it would take an hour to cut, sew, mold, and finish. But in between you have to wait a couple drying periods. One when you block, one after you oil the holster, and then another after you put a sealer on the leather.

In the southwest this can take up to two separate days, but should be left out to dry for a week. In other areas with humidity, whoo doggy, who knows... :blink: