How Many Rounds a Year Should a We Shoot?

This is a discussion on How Many Rounds a Year Should a We Shoot? within the Defensive Carry & Tactical Training forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I know it varies based on current skill level, but shooting a gun is a perishable skill. I am a novice marksman and am trying ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How Many Rounds a Year Should a We Shoot?

Senior Member Array McPatrickClan's Avatar

I know it varies based on current skill level, but shooting a gun is a perishable skill. I am a novice marksman and am trying to estimate (for budgeting purposes) how many rounds a year I should expect to shoot w/my wife.

I have a reloading kit but am open to selling it & buying factory/re-manufactured ammo instead. Just trying to figure out what is reasonable.

Thanks!

2. Remove Ads

Distinguished Member Array Knightrider's Avatar
    Maybe 4-7K per year so far.
    Glock: G22 .40 S&W and G23 .40 S&W Sig Sauer: P938 9mm Smith and Wesson: Model 437 .38 Spl, Model 65 357 Mag, and Sigma SW9VE 9mm

My numbers vary with my budget. What you can afford is a good start.

I was putting better than 15k a year downrange up until my granddaughter was born. :)
    "Just getting a concealed carry permit means you haven't commited a crime yet. CCP holders commit crimes." Daniel Vice, senior attorney for the Brady Campaign to Prevent Gun Violence, quoted on Fox & Friends, 8 Jul, 2008

(Sometimes) "a fight avioded is a fight won." ... claude clay

Quote Originally Posted by goldshellback View Post
    My numbers vary with my budget. What you can afford is a good start
    I'm going to carve out the space in the budget for what I need to be a responsible, accurate shooter. I just am trying to figure out if I need to buy 1,000... 3,000.... 5,000 rounds of my primary practice ammo. Or if there is no need to burn through thousands of rounds of FMJ to be a very good shooter.

However much your wife will let you buy.