"the draw"

"the draw"

This is a discussion on "the draw" within the Defensive Carry & Tactical Training forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm no neophyte, been doing this a very long time but I try not to be so arrogant as to assert that I can't learn ...

Thread: "the draw"

Lightbulb "the draw"

I'm no neophyte, been doing this a very long time but I try not to be so arrogant as to assert that I can't learn new things or RE-LEARN a better way to do old things. Because of my wife's illness last year (she is now victorious against breast cancer -- an especially virulent and lethal variety) I gave 100% attention to her and basically dumped most of my shooting activity, especially IDPA. Concurrently (almost) I was in the process of losing what has now totaled out to be about 140 pounds as a result of my gastric bypass surgery. Now I look like I did when I was a fresh college graduate and a newly "frocked" 2nd Lieutenant of Infantry. Back then, my very first carry piece was a S&W M19 .357 with a four inch barrel. Later, I carried a variety of guns from 1911s to a Colt Python and then a brace of H&K's: A USP 45 and finally a P30 9mm. As I began to balloon up in weight (right after I got MARRIED --- Hmmmmm) I segued into a DA 9mm, mostly because it was less likely to be a weight drag on my trousers.

My draw technique has always been slow and methodical, even in IDPA where it cost me points. A wise old Sergeant Major once told me: "Kid (I was back then) yer either gonna have all the time in the world to get your weapon out or NO TIME AT ALL. So don't worry about a fast draw!" That made a lot of sense to me.