New training available through my employer...kind of excited

This is a discussion on New training available through my employer...kind of excited within the Defensive Carry & Tactical Training forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I work as a court probation officer. We are in the field out of our territory, in BG houses a LOT. Unfortunately we are technically ...

Thread: New training available through my employer...kind of excited

I work as a court probation officer. We are in the field out of our territory, in BG houses a LOT. Unfortunately we are technically unarmed. Long story why. Our agency has just announced they are selecting persons to go to a tactical medicine training. Looks very comprehensive. Included teaching is described below.

*Proper treatment of extremity injuries and hemorrhage control, including tourniquet application techniques Hemostatic agents and their applications

*Treatment of gunshot and puncture wounds (including intubation).

*Proper patient assessment, including recognition and remote assessment of drug overdose and initial reaction

*Proper initial assessment and treatment of gunshot wounds, stab or shrapnel wounds, not only to patient or another officer, but to the officer himself.

*Proper assessment of basic battery injuries, including basic first aid skills, including intubation and proper use of a defibrillator.

I was once an EMT-B, and let my card lapse, unfortunately but I will have some basic skills when I go in.

They are also providing us with what I hear is a well made tactical trauma kit, for our use.

I am pretty excited to attend as it is something I have suggested to our higher ups for a few years. Just luckily, somebody was listening.
    Friends don't let friends be MALL NINJAS.

I am just as nice as anyone lets me be and can be just as mean as anyone makes me. - Quoted from Terryger, New member to our forum.