If you HAD to teach yourself..........

This is a discussion on If you HAD to teach yourself.......... within the Defensive Carry & Tactical Training forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; "A self-taught man usually has a poor teacher and a worse student." Henny Youngman Hi all - Having (hopefully) derailed the above or similar responses, ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree14Likes

Thread: If you HAD to teach yourself..........

If you HAD to teach yourself..........

"A self-taught man usually has a poor teacher and a worse student." Henny Youngman

Hi all -

Having (hopefully) derailed the above or similar responses, what 4 (to keep it within some bounds) books/resources would you rely on for learning to best defend yourself with a handgun?

I ask because I can't afford several hundred $$ worth of training/ammo, which circumstance I respectfully ask that you not bring into the discussion.
    I can, however, afford several books/videos/whatever, seriatim.

I'll appreciate all sincere responses to the essential question.

regards,
    Terry
    NRA Life Member

I will never intentionally shoot your sacred cow

2. Remove Ads

Senior Member Array Chad Rogers's Avatar
    Suarez International has several DVDs I like. Close Range Gunfighting is a good basic DVD set (2-DVDs) that also incorporates elements of mindset and tactics into it.

The NRA has several videos available,I got one somewhere that deals with home defense,on the Sportsman channel,there is/was a show that dealt with different situations and had Massad Ayoob,and Gabe Suarez,you can practice those drills with airsoft guns,
    "Outside of the killings, Washington has one of the lowest crime rates in the country,"
    --Mayor Marion Barry, Washington , DC .

I've found Magpul's "The Art of the Dynamic Handgun" and Personal Defense Network's DVDs helpful.
    Check out pistol-forum.com also, some great info there on drills and training techniques.