Shooting Under Stress

Shooting Under Stress

This is a discussion on Shooting Under Stress within the Defensive Carry & Tactical Training forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am new to firearms. But given recent times, I felt it was necessary to arm myself and get trained. I bought an M&P9c for ...

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Like Tree29Likes

Thread: Shooting Under Stress

Shooting Under Stress

I am new to firearms. But given recent times, I felt it was necessary to arm myself and get trained. I bought an M&P9c for concealed carry, took the appropriate course, and applied for my carry permit here in Colorado. I should have it in early February.

In the mean time I have been spending as much time as I can afford at the range - usually twice per week with 100 rounds per trip. All target shooting so far. Have read and watched a lot online for proper technique and my accuracy has been steadily improving.

I have also read here and elsewhere about how under the stress of a life threatening situation that accuracy deteriorates rapidly. But even though I understood it from an intellectual standpoint, I just couldn't imagine how anyone could miss a large target at close range in any situation (i.e. I could see missing a bullseye but not center mass of a body).

Well I had an eye opener last night. I took my first formal pistol course given locally by some ex special ops guys. I am pretty nervous about doing anything in front of people, so when it came time to do drills in front of the class I was very stressed out. Probably nowhere near the stress of a real life or death situation, but stressful nevertheless. I was shocked to find that I missed the entire target 2 out of 12 times at a range of about 5 yards! At that distance with my normal target practice I would have had everything in the bullseye.

Needless to say, I need a lot more training. But this really shocked me.