need some help, shooting low, changed stance and this might help?

This is a discussion on need some help, shooting low, changed stance and this might help? within the Defensive Carry & Tactical Training forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Really could use some help from those more experienced than I. I have a SW MP9 full size. I am in MA, had a trigger ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: need some help, shooting low, changed stance and this might help?

need some help, shooting low, changed stance and this might help?

Really could use some help from those more experienced than I.

I have a SW MP9 full size. I am in MA, had a trigger job done.

I shoot low by a foot at 25'. I am pretty sure I am getting a good sight picture, I have a sig mosquito that pretty accurate from 50'.

gun is good, i have had 3 people shoot it very accurately, so it is me.

I am new to this, maybe 500 rounds on the SW.

Also, bad eyes, both near and far. I wear progressives.

So today, after being very frustrated, I changed my stance a bit. Instead of shooting with my arms locked, I brought them in some , with my elbows bent. And the more I brought them in, the higher the shots went up. One thing I also noticed was that sight got better as I was able to use a different part of my glasses to see through. I was low by maybe a few inches. But can't be too close to my face of course.

Would appreciate some advice on stance, arm position. I know there isn't one right or wrong. But need help. AFAIK, this gun does not have a smaller sight that would help this out. Thanks.

2. Remove Ads

If you are shooting w/ your shoulders squared to the target, I would try turning so that your strong side is back and weak side is closer to the target. This gives you a straighter strong side arm, bent weak side arm, and the gun is a little closer to your face. It might be a nice compromise between the arms straight and arms bent versions of what you were doing.