Gunsite vs Suarez International. Which is better

This is a discussion on Gunsite vs Suarez International. Which is better within the Defensive Carry & Tactical Training forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Newbie here. I want to learn as much as possible. And become as skilled as possible. Any opinions on which would be better for an ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Gunsite vs Suarez International. Which is better

Gunsite vs Suarez International. Which is better

Newbie here. I want to learn as much as possible. And become as skilled as possible. Any opinions on which would be better for an old guy with very little training.

Thanks.

2. Remove Ads

S.I. comes to you (or at least close)

You learn a lot over a weekend course.

Have taken several classes from SI or one of their affiliates, including 2 with Gabe himself.

I've never taken classes at Gunsite, but other than not getting to meet Col. Cooper, I don't think I've missed anything.

I'd add Clint Smith's Thunder Ranch to your short list. He is a legend. I plan on taking a class from them but the wait list is long.

My vote goes to Suarez. Honest, before you make a decision order the Suarez Force On Force DVD.

Distinguished Member Array Bill MO's Avatar
    I went with SI they have a class for the very new guy who knows little about a gun to the advanced gun fighter. There classes not only cover the hows and whys of the gun but also the fight its self. Winning a gunfight is far more than just shooting a gun. For me SI is the best for doing that.

The other schools are good if all you want is a fast draw and to shoot small groups on paper but if you are looking to fight with a gun then it has to be SI for me.
    It's gotta be who you are, not a hobby. reinman45

"Is this persons bad behavior worth me having to kill them over?" Guantes

VIP Member
    I've never been to either one.