Part 2 of Citizens' Firearms Class - at the Range

This is a discussion on Part 2 of Citizens' Firearms Class - at the Range within the Defensive Carry & Tactical Training forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Well, this morning was part 2 of our Citizens' Firearms Class taught by the instructors of the Wetumpka Police Department - range time! I've been ...

Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By Harryball
  • 1 Post By Harryball
  • 1 Post By TSiWRX

Thread: Part 2 of Citizens' Firearms Class - at the Range

Well, this morning was part 2 of our Citizens' Firearms Class taught by the instructors of the Wetumpka Police Department - range time!

I've been shooting pistols now for over five years, but today I learned a lot:

1. I can hit center mass from 15 yards with a 2'' barrel compact .45

2. I can handle the recoil of a 2'' barrel compact .45

3. I CAN'T manage the recoil of a 2'' barrel compact .45

4. I either need a bigger .45 or a compact 9mm

The first picture is 'just shooting' center mass from 15 yards. I fired 43 rounds of 230gr. FMJ. Notice most of them going low-left. I tried compensating by aiming high and right of the target:

Range ALL.jpg

This picture is trying for accuracy at 15 yards. 7 rounds of 230gr. FMJ and I was again aiming at high and right of the target. Again, low-left.

Range AIM.jpg
    US Air Force, 1986 - 2007

"To disarm the people is the best and most effective way to enslave them..." George Mason

http://www.appleseedinfo.org/

Mano at first glance I think your anticipating recoil, maybe even slapping the trigger. If this is the case, try this dry fire drill. Place a penny on the front of your weapon, then pull the trigger, trying not to bounce the penny off the weapon. Next, at the range have someone load your mag and place a snap cap in the mag, with you not knowing which spot the snap cap will be in. . If you jerk the weapon down, you know that your anticipating recoil.