M&P 22 Training for my M&P40C ???

This is a discussion on M&P 22 Training for my M&P40C ??? within the Defensive Carry & Tactical Training forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I love the M&P platform, so much that I just bought a duplicate M&P 40c. Already had 9mm barel, 12 extra magazines, crimson trace, and ...

Thread: M&P 22 Training for my M&P40C ???

M&P 22 Training for my M&P40C ???

I love the M&P platform, so much that I just bought a duplicate M&P 40c. Already had 9mm barel, 12 extra magazines, crimson trace, and holsters so the gun made sen$e.

I'm considering the M&P 22 for range training. With the price of ammo the .22LR is appealing. I'm new to shooting and this gun. Probably 1000 rounds down range. I would like to get into a routine of shooting 100 .22LR followed by 50 9mm/.40cal twice a week.

Anybody out there with an M&P EDC train with the M&P 22? What are your thoughts on it? Has it made your controll and accuracy better?

If I don't buy the M&P 22 I would probably put the ca$h into a reloading system. What makes more sense?

2. Remove Ads

Had the 9 (redundant - I have too many 9's if one can have "too many") and still have the 22.

I have to say... The M&P 22 is (honest, I can't believe I'm saying this myself) one of the funnest, most accurate (freakishly accurate), easy to shoot, best "fitting" pistols I've ever had, period. Tack-driving, cheap-shooting -- Love it, love it.

I couldn't really tell you if it made me a better shooter with the 9... Certainly cheaper to get used to the feel of the weapon. Personally, I'd just tell you to run out and get one no matter what.

Heck, if the thing was a little smaller, it'd probably be my 'regular' -- Say what you want about 22LR power, but when you're making 3" rapid-fire groups (I'm sure there are plenty that can with larger calibers - I'm just not one of 'em), the "confidence" level has an effect...