Why I Train-A Confession

Why I Train-A Confession

This is a discussion on Why I Train-A Confession within the Defensive Carry & Tactical Training forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I attend formal training courses at least once a year. I have been shooting for over 40 years and am an active NRA instructor in ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree16Likes

Thread: Why I Train-A Confession

Why I Train-A Confession

I attend formal training courses at least once a year. I have been shooting for over 40 years and am an active NRA instructor in multiple disciplines. So of course continuing training is important to keep my skills up, keep abreast of new techniques, and...oh stop the BS.

The real reason that I go to these training schools is because it's a hell of a lot of fun. I have met really great people from various states, some of whom have become friends. The wife is delighted to get me gone for a few days and she knows that when I get back I am in a great mood for weeks. Oh yeah, I keep my skills up, learn new techniques yaddah yaddah. Ok, now I have admitted the truth. I feel soooo much better.
    Best way to win a gun fight? "That's easy, don't show up."
    --Wyatt Earp

"Fast is fine, but accuracy is everything."
    -- Wyatt Earp

Have you ever been to a Front Sight Institute course, i.e. Iggy Pizza's company? I somehow got on their email list and haven't cancelled because that guy's a trip. He keeps me entertained with his unbridled narcissism. But my point was about the cost ... his classes seem overwhelmingly expensive.

I will agree on meeting new people. I will disagree on fun. I have never been to a class and had fun. I have always left the class with a nagging doubt that my skills are not close to where they need to be.

Quote Originally Posted by dbglock View Post