Basic training tips

This is a discussion on Basic training tips within the Defensive Carry & Tactical Training forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm new to the CCW world and take the responsability very seriously. I'm proud to say that tonight I topped the 1000 round mark through ...

Thread: Basic training tips

Basic training tips

I'm new to the CCW world and take the responsability very seriously. I'm proud to say that tonight I topped the 1000 round mark through my Taurus Millenium Pro 9mm.

The range I use is a very nice, new, indoor range. They are very conservative in what they allow on the range. No drawing from a holster, quick mag changes, firing from other than a standard standing position, etc. This is obviously quite unlike the real world.

I'm looking for some tips on how I can best train under these circumstances.

I've been using paper plates with sticky notes. I'll alternate shooting slowly and controlled at 7 and 25 yards for accuracy and then rapidly just making sure all rounds land on the plate. I've gotten good at double taps and have no trouble keeping all rounds on the target.

Tonight I hung two plates next to eachother to practice rapidly aquiring another target. Shot a double tap into one then a double tap into the other.

What else can I do to best learn the skills necessary for an actual self-defense encounter?

I know there are several outdoor gun clubs in the area that offer more tactical scenarios but I haven't yet purchased memberships. Plus, it's going to start getting cold here as winter arrives!!

Thanks for your tips!

2. Remove Ads

Senior Member Array Sweatnbullets's Avatar
    http://www.airsoftatlanta.com/index.htm

Buy yourself an airsoft gun here. This way you can "safely" train in many of the things that your range does not allow.