Speed. Its essential to your health.

This is a discussion on Speed. Its essential to your health. within the Defensive Carry & Tactical Training forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Im not a professional instructor though I do have some background and training in security and self defense. So I occasionally try to help friends ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree11Likes

Thread: Speed. Its essential to your health.

Speed. Its essential to your health.

Im not a professional instructor though I do have some background and training in security and self defense. So I occasionally try to help friends when they start out cc or even if they have been for a while but just bought a gun and carry it and are able to hit a soda can at 15 yards.
    In my opinion the weakest point most have is a lack of speed. I dont mean speed for speeds sake and cant hit a car at 10 yards but realistic usable speed of draw and fire to center mass at SD distances of 7 to 10 yards.
    Nobody that has started out shooting with me except some ex LEO buddies could get their weapon out and fire in time to not be beaten to death with their own gun.

They invariably have it well concealed to a point that when I ask them to draw from the normal cc postion they cant draw and fire before I can take 7 normal walking strides. And that is approx 21 feet. Usually they cant even get the gun out before I cover that distance at a normal pace much less rushing them.

Which brings me to why Im posting this. Tactics, big gun little gun, holsters, what ifs, should I fire or not fire and all the rest vaporize into nothingness if you cannot get your gun out and fire to center mass before your either shot or swarmed or knifed or Godzilla on crack has you by the short hairs.