Am I ready?

This is a discussion on Am I ready? within the Defensive Carry & Tactical Training forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hey everyone. Yes, I am new here, and I'm new to the defensive carry world as well. I just had a question that I thought ...

Thread: Am I ready?

Am I ready?

Hey everyone. Yes, I am new here, and I'm new to the defensive carry world as well. I just had a question that I thought may be best answered here. Feel free to read the long story version of my question, or simply skip to the bold and get right down to it.

My brother introduced me to firearms in June. I had experience with them as a kid, but nothing more than the occasional .22 LR shot from my brothers rifle. Anyway, he came to visit me and encouraged me to take a concealed carry course with him. He took me out and we shot his 9mm for an hour or so, and I fell in love. Who knew firearms were this much fun to shoot? I got in around 25-50 rounds a week, and enjoyed challenging myself and improving my accuracy and safe handling.

Over the past few months I've accumulated 4 handguns and an AR15. I love them all, and find I enjoy shopping for firearms as much fun as any other girl may find shopping for clothes. I Purchased a Ruger SR22 as my first, though I don't shoot it much due to the scarcity of .22LR ammunition. I also purchased a M&P Shield .40, which was going to be my concealed carry for a while. I enjoyed shooting it and got fairly good with it. However, I wasn't one to stick with a single gun when there were so many others out there for me to try.