Let me tell you about what I learned today!

This is a discussion on Let me tell you about what I learned today! within the Defensive Carry & Tactical Training forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Did I learn a lot!? I just got back in from shooting at my Thursday night IDPA club. I haven't even cleaned my Glock 19 ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Like Tree39Likes

Thread: Let me tell you about what I learned today!

Let me tell you about what I learned today!

Did I learn a lot!?

I just got back in from shooting at my Thursday night IDPA club. I haven't even cleaned my Glock 19 yet and I wanted to pass this on.

A little back story...I am new to Glocks and I am relatively new to IDPA. I had shot it a few times in the past but it had been a while so I have gotten involved with the local club. I have attended every Thursday for the last 4 weeks including tonight.

Tonight was a little different, though. We had stages that required reload from slide lock tonight where in the last 3 Thursdays it's all been reload with a loaded chamber and mag retention.

The first thing I learned is when one of my local gun shops asked me if I wanted an extended slide stop release he had lying around for free I should have said no. I had 2 separate issues where the gun did not lock back because I was riding the slide stop. Glock OEM slide stop STAT! I never use the thing anyway because I have made a habit out of cycling the slide on a reload rather than hitting the slide stop release.