Getting started...

Getting started...

This is a discussion on Getting started... within the Defensive Carry & Tactical Training forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm located in Orlando, Florida and I am just getting into the pistol scene. Does anyone know where the best place to get started for ...

Thread: Getting started...

Getting started...

I'm located in Orlando, Florida and I am just getting into the pistol scene. Does anyone know where the best place to get started for tactical combat shooting (in retrospect to my area) is? Every month there are dates and locations inside my American Rifleman magazine for competitions, but I'm not sure jumping right into competition without first having experienced the event on the side is the best thing to do...or is it?

I am glad to see you are wanting to take training classes, many do not.

Check this thread out, shackle me knot (Shay) is a trainer at Tactical Response and linked a good scool in Florida. I'm not sure if it's in your area but I travel almost 200 miles one way to train because it is worth it.

I am sure there are other school's that you can got to as well but this should get ya started. PM or email Shay as well and see if he can point you in the right direction to a school in your area.

http://www.combatcarry.com/vbulletin...ad.php?t=18521

Here is another,

http://www.combatcarry.com/vbulletin...ad.php?t=13400

Ti.
    Last edited by Ti Carry; January 10th, 2007 at 10:06 AM.
    Train and train hard, you might not get a second chance to make a first impression!

I vote for Monica Lewinsky's Ex-Boyfriend's Wife for President.....Not!

Training is very important, and can be a little easier to find if you start associating with folks in the local shooting fraternity. Iíd suggest you go to http://www.idpa.com/clublist.asp?state=FL , look up a local IDPA club in your area, and start going to the matches they hold.