Force on Force in Manassa, Virginia

This is a discussion on Force on Force in Manassa, Virginia within the Defensive Carry & Tactical Training forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; WARNING: Long Post, so grab some coffee before you start reading. During the first weekend in March, I attended the two day Interactive Gun Fighting ...

Thread: Force on Force in Manassa, Virginia

WARNING: Long Post, so grab some coffee before you start reading.

During the first weekend in March, I attended the two day Interactive Gun Fighting course presented in Manassas by Gabe Suarez.

This was my first force on force session.

My background is that I shoot IPSC competitions, take training classes when I can and try my best to live at the range. I am 55 years old and am in the process of losing weight and attempting to get into shape but have a long way to go. So, physically I am a far cry from the ďwarriorĒ Gabe tries to train his students to be.

This being my first FOF class, I had some apprehension about what would happen at the class. After all, I had never met Gabe. He is definitely an athlete and his pictures on his various books always make him look like a bad dude. So, in the back of my mind I sorta pictured him as a tough dude who probably liked to show how bad he was and how sad you are.

On top of that, the course was held at a place called Team Ruthless in Manassas. After I signed up I thought, ďwhat the heck am I doing here? These guys are going to kill meĒ.

So now the course is over and I am bruised up with little pellet marks on my body reminding me that if you donít move, you get shot. Am I a bad dude defensive shooter now? No. What I am is enlightened.