Trigger Control A Pressing Issue

This is a discussion on Trigger Control A Pressing Issue within the Defensive Carry & Tactical Training forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; “Trigger Control” A Pressing Concern for Instructors By: Tom Perroni I have been an Instructor for about 20 years. I have been an Instructor Trainer ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

“Trigger Control”

A Pressing Concern for Instructors

By: Tom Perroni

I have been an Instructor for about 20 years. I have been an Instructor Trainer (Someone who trains Instructors) for about 5 years and I have been a Firearms Instructor Trainer for 4 years.

My father, who was a U.S. Marine Corps small arms Instructor & NRA Law Enforcement Firearms Instructor, taught me anyone can call the line… it takes an Instructor to fix the students problems. He would always say, “Watch the shooter, not the target.” In this way you can see what they are doing wrong and then verify it by looking at the target.

I teach that there are seven fundamentals of handgun shooting, and that each one is important to get accurate hits on a target. Whether we are talking about “Target Accuracy” or “Combat Accuracy” is something I will discuss in a future article. The most important thing in a gunfight is to hit what you aim at. However there is one fundamental that causes the most problems for students and instructors: Trigger Control. The vast majority of the time, a bad shot on an intended target can be directly traced to trigger control, or a lack thereof.

Here are some of the facts that I teach Firearms Instructors about Trigger Control:

1. It is the most common problem in shooters.
    2. If not done correctly, you will not hit what you aim at.
    3. Has to be done properly, even when hurried.
    4. Trigger jerk and anticipation of recoil will consume 75% of your corrective action as an instructor.
    5. This is the cornerstone of shooting fundamentals.