IDPA or USPSA

IDPA or USPSA

This is a discussion on IDPA or USPSA within the Defensive Carry & Tactical Training forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; If you had to chose which to shoot, which would be your choice and why? Also, in looking at the place near me where they ...

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Like Tree40Likes

Thread: IDPA or USPSA

IDPA or USPSA

If you had to chose which to shoot, which would be your choice and why?
    Also, in looking at the place near me where they offer this, they also offer IHMSA International Handgun Metallic Silhouette Association. Anyone ever heard of it? I'll look into it when I have more time. Just wondered if that might be a good choice also?
    Thanks

To preface my comments, I have not shot either IDPA or USPSA, but I have considered both. Some background: I started shooting "practical" pistol competitions back in the late 70s, when the IPSC was pretty new, and there weren't all that many local or state affiliates. (I had to drive a little over 100 miles to shoot in our monthly matches.) Everyone shot pretty much "stock" pistols at the time, and it was just what I was looking for - "practical practice" with my everyday pistol. But of course as the organization grew and competition became more heated, customized "race" guns started showing up and pretty much took over the sport. Many of us drifted away from the sport due to rising costs and shift of focus.