Pelvic Shot - Is it worth considering?

This is a discussion on Pelvic Shot - Is it worth considering? within the Defensive Carry & Tactical Training forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; While waiting for my CCW permit to be issued, I have been studying up on changes in tactics since I last carried many years ago. ...

Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Pelvic Shot - Is it worth considering?

While waiting for my CCW permit to be issued, I have been studying up on changes in tactics since I last carried many years ago.

One thing I ran across is the pelvic shot endorsed by Massad Ayoob.

As I understand it, three thing are accomplished by this tactic: 1. By aiming at the pelvis, a good view of the BG's hands can be maintained. 2. Aiming at the crotch has a psychological effect on the bad guy. 3. A hit to the pelvic area by a powerful enough round can drop the BG by breaking bones.

Does anyone practice this tactic and why?

Has anyone ever aimed at a BG's crotch, and did this change his attitude?

Does anyone know of an example where the pelvic shot was effective?

Martin Fackler had this to say in the Wound Ballistics Review. 4(1):13; 1999.

"Shots to the Pelvic Area ".

“I welcome the chance to refute the belief that the pelvic area is a reasonable target during a gunfight. I can find no evidence or valid rationale for intentionally targeting the pelvic area in a gunfight. The reasons against, however, are many. They include: