Completed CCW Class

Completed CCW Class

This is a discussion on Completed CCW Class within the Defensive Carry & Tactical Training forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I attended a concealed carry class. I was surprised how many amatuer shooters were there. One lady says " I've never even shot a gun". ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Completed CCW Class

I attended a concealed carry class. I was surprised how many amatuer shooters were there. One lady says " I've never even shot a gun". Two other guys ask "can we rent guns... we don't have any".
    I ask myself... should the standards be raised?
    I have been shooting since I was 6 years old and pistols since I was 18 years old. I feel confident in being able to control a weapon. Should people be required to attend training before licensed? I could have qualified with my eyes closed... the target is huge.

No. Every law abiding citizen has the right to keep and bear arms...and thus, to CCW.

Once you start mandating standards in order to get a CCW license, you begin to infringe upon those rights.

Should a CHL holder learn how to shoot first? Yes, they should. They would be stupid not too. But it should not be a requirement.

Lead Moderator
    Requirement? No, good idea, yes. I consider the CCW class as the first step, continued training is very valuable and should be sought be those serious about carrying a weapon daily.
    "In matters of style, swim with the current; in matters of principle, stand like a rock." Thomas Jefferson

Nemo Me Impune Lacesset

Quote Originally Posted by gbryant View Post
    I attended a concealed carry class. I was surprised how many amatuer shooters were there. One lady says " I've never even shot a gun". Two other guys ask "can we rent guns... we don't have any".
    I ask myself... should the standards be raised?