Thumbs forward - why?

Thumbs forward - why?

This is a discussion on Thumbs forward - why? within the Defensive Carry & Tactical Training forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I have been shooting revolvers and pistols since 1985. I've always wrapped the left (weak) hand around the right, with one thumb on top of ...

Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: Thumbs forward - why?

Thumbs forward - why?

I have been shooting revolvers and pistols since 1985. I've always wrapped the left (weak) hand around the right, with one thumb on top of the other. I have seen many photos of shooters with both thumbs forward - when I try it, I feel my grip has been weakened. What advantages does thumbs forward give a shooter?

Distinguished Member Array kazzaerexys's Avatar
    I have been trying both ways. I agree that the thumbs down position gives a stronger grip, but I am beginning to come to the conclusion that thumbs forward, along the frame, gives better left/right stability as well as speeding up my aim. I definitely have a tendency to jerk left on my trigger, and the result is much less noticable with thumbs forward (being a right-handed shooter).

As for aiming, if I practice draw and point, then look down along the sights to see how close I am to my intended aim, I do a much better job of pointing with the thumbs forward. Nothing that would matter at, say, four or five yards, but might be significant at seven to ten and beyond.

I would say just try out both. If you shoot better thumbs down, then shoot thumbs down.

I shoot like you do... with thumbs "stacked" if you will. I shoot fine this way and don't really see any reason to reinvent the wheel at this point. As long as you hit your target then do whatever works and FEELS best for YOU.
    Allen

-"I may get killed with my own gun, but he's gonna have to beat me to death with it, 'cause it's going to be empty." -Clint Smith

Administrator