The Basic Drill

The Basic Drill

This is a discussion on The Basic Drill within the Defensive Carry & Tactical Training forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am an instructor by nature. I teach firearms, martial arts and just about everything else I learn from lock picking, interviews or whatever. I ...

Thread: The Basic Drill

The Basic Drill

I am an instructor by nature. I teach firearms, martial arts and just about everything else I learn from lock picking, interviews or whatever. I like to learn and I like to teach.

Now with that said, a few people I know who carry concealed and are not in law enforcement have asked me to teach them how to shoot. So I started think, what gun handling skills are necessary for concealed carry? And when would I consider somebody to have the basic skills necessary to accomplish the mission/situation they might face while they are carrying?

There is so much to learn out their, everything from support side malfunction drills, to low light building searches. A lot of these skills have taken me years to learn and master to some degree. Where do I start and stop with a new shooter, who has limited training time? What would I consider success?

What I came up with is what I call the "basic drill". I call it the basic drill, because I consider it to be the minim gun handling skills that you will use in a situation where you use your firearms in a lethal force engagement.

Basically the drill is to:

1. draw your weapon, fire and hit the target.
    2. scan for other threats and(often over looked) locate cover.
    3. move to cover.
    4. reassess the threat and scan again.

Again I am not saying that these skills are basic. What I am saying is that this is basically what you should be doing when you use lethal force. I know not in every situation, but almost all of them.