LFI-1 Class

This is a discussion on LFI-1 Class within the Defensive Carry & Tactical Training forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Ok, it just completed Massad Ayoob's class today and I've got to say it was one of the most challenging things I've done in a ...

Thread: LFI-1 Class

LFI-1 Class

Ok, it just completed Massad Ayoob's class today and I've got to say it was one of the most challenging things I've done in a while. I'm relatively new to owning a hand gun (6 months) and I was practicing for shooting qualification and my Bersa .380 failed right before the qualification test. I had no backup so I had to take the test with my buddy's P94 9mm ruger. I never shot the thing before so I think you can understand my apprehension. I did well and passed. My buddy checked out by Bersa last night and there was a spring that broke in the handle that returned the hammer. This gun up to that point only had about 6-700 rounds through it. I have two questions. 1. Does anybody know if this is a common occurrence with these pistols? I'm really concerned that if I get it fixed it may not go bang when I need it to. 2. Can I get some recommendations on a good gun for concealed carry that would be reliable should I need to replace it?

2. Remove Ads

I'd go with a Sig P239 in .40 S&W. if you want to stay small or a 229 for something bigger.
    Les Baer 45
    Sig Man
    N.R.A. Patron Life Member
    M.C.R.G.O.

I recommend the Kahr P9 or CW9, 9mm. They are almost identical. The CW9 being slightly less in price. The size and weight are perfect IMO for IWB carry. I carry in a Bianchi # 100 IWB holster at 3 o'clock, right under my right elbow. Very comfortable.

Congrats on passing the class!

You are very well prepared if you pay attention in glass, or so I've been told. I haven't been able to attend LFI yet, but it's on my "short list". I'll probably go in 2009.